Skip to main content

Return to Monkey Island

Known Facts

Below you can find an up-to-date list of the most interesting facts about the upcoming game based on interviews and tweets by Ron Gilbert and other people working on the game:

  • The game has been in development for the past two years and will be released this year. No specific date announced yet. (Source)
  • Return to Monkey Island starts where Monkey Island 2: LeChuck's Revenge left off - in an amusement park. (Source)
  • The Monkey Island games after Monkey Island 2: LeChuck's Revenge are still canon. (Source)
  • Murray is in the game and has a big role. (Source)
  • The game engine was created by Ron Gilbert and the scripting language is called Dinky. (Source)
  • Noah Falstein, known for designing the Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis, did an early testing of Return to Monkey Island. (Source)
  • The game will also be playable via a controller. (Source)
  • Return to Monkey Island will feature a built-in hint system. (Source)
  • The game will have an easy mode called "casual mode". (Source)
  • The music by Michael Land, Peter McConnell, and Clint Bajakian is interactive and recorded live. (Source)
  • The game will have 14,000 lines of dialog, 34 actors and use 3 studios. For camparison, The Curse of Monkey Island has 8.357 lines of dialog. (Source)
  • The three pirates from The Secret of Monkey Island cover will appear in the new game. (Source)
  • The voice recordings were finished by Jun 14, 2022. (Source)
  • James Earl Boen declined to return as the voice of LeChuck as he is now retired. However, he gave his blessing to recast the role. (Source)



Return to Monkey Island trailer thumbnail

Voice Cast

Guybrush Threepwood Dominic Armato
Elaine Marley Alexandra Boyd
LeChuck Not Earl Bowen
Murray Denny Delk
Lookout Rob Paulsen
Stan Gavin Hammon
Herman Toothrot Wally Wingert

Game Credits

Designer & Writer Ron Gilbert
Designer & Writer Dave Grossman
Composer Michael Land
Composer Peter McConnell
Composer Clint Bajakian
Music Producer Jared Emerson-Johnson
Lead Game Programmer David Fox
Art Director Rex Crowle
Game Producer Jenn Sandercock
Programmer & Writer Leigh Graner
Gameplay Programmer & QA Robert Megone
QA Tester Paulo Trindade
QA Tester Jet Stormont
QA Tester Tiffany Jackson
Programmer Kenny Sun
Associate Producer Tina Lu
Casting & Voice Director Khris Brown
Animator Chris Gortz
Animator Tamsin Nunley
Spine Animator Cody Hann
Spine Animator Fabiano Caputo
Story Board Artist Sarah Teamouse
Game Artist Rhonda Conley
Spanish Translator Concha Fernandez
Italian Translator Carlo De Rensis
German Translator Marcel Weyers
French Translator Christophe Pallarès
Russian Translator Arina Bedrina
Portuguese (Brazil) Translator RĂ´mulo Wehling